Ditch the New Year’s Resolutions

Goal Chasing

 

With a little less than 2 months left in 2016, we’re getting to that time people will start discussing New Year’s resolutions.

The overwhelming majority of those people will not begin to act on those resolutions until Jan 1, 2017. And an overwhelming majority of those people will not make it through the first quarter with those resolutions.

Now, I’m going to tell you why I believe this is the case.

While there are many definitions for the word “Resolution”, a quick google search reveals the following as a top hit:
“a firm decision to do or not to do something”.
I believe this is the most referenced definition when people discuss resolutions. Can you identify the problem with it?

IT DOESN’T REQUIRE ACTION.

Saying you have made “A firm decision” to do something, keeps you in the contemplation stage of goals reaching. In this definition, the action comes off as secondary to the thought. And even optional!

In addition to a lack of action, I find these “Holiday Resolutions” to be particularly troubling because of poor timing.

Here’s an example:

Let’s say you hope to increase a letter grade in a course. You wouldn’t wait until the day of the test to start studying, would you? ( Disclaimer: As an extreme procrastinator, I did this ALOT during college. I cannot confirm or deny it’s effectiveness ^_^)

No way!

Instead, it makes more sense to begin prepping and incorporating effective study habits the moment you realize your grade is in jeopardy?

If you want to get an “A” in your Intro to Psychology class in 2017. You should begin prep in 2016. That way, when 2017 (the target date for change) arrives, you will have gotten into an effective routine of habits to accomplish your goal.

Lifestyle changes do not occur overnight. So start your work for next year now!

I have already identified the changes I hope to be in a routine of by Jan 2017, for this reason. And I have a little under two months of “free trail” goal practice.

If we follow this plan of action, by January 2017, we should be ready.
I have developed what I call the 3D’s program. My 3D plan will target 4 key areas of improvement:
1.Financial
2.Educational
3.Physical
4.Spiritual
Through intentional, directed steps, I know I can reach these goals.
Join me next time for a detailed course of action. And please shoot me an email if you would like to participate in the 3D Weekly accountability meetup.
.

Leave a Reply

